top of page
  • Writer's pictureNate Hopper

[ 11/13/23 - 11/17/23 ] Fried Neopixels, Wasted Days, Much Frustration.

I have wasted the past two days. This is a travesty.


Let's start with the good of this week. The circuit boards came in on Tuesday, so I had the majority of the week to work on them. Along with this, everything on the admin PCB got soldered perfectly, so no need to worry about that.

I also got the rest of the chess pieces engraved and cut out so that was exciting, now I have a whole set to use for testing, once magnets get added to the base.

Now for the bad. I spent Wednesday and Thursday surface mounting Neopixels that I had removed from some broken Neopixel sticks. As it turns out though, the neopixels are EXTREMELY sensitive to temperature, and thus, due to the multiple instances of a heat gun being used to solder and desolder them, many of the neopixels ended up broken and unusable.

Neopixels, removed from the stick.

I'm really upset about this, since two boards have been used, and lost for testing this, so next week we're going to work on dealing with this problem.

But at least the hall effect board got produced well.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

[ 4/29/24 - 5/3/24 ] Outer Shell

This week I modeled the outer holder for the chess clock project. It took a few tries though since I ended up with some of the holes being in the wrong spots or being too small, so I had to make a few

Site by Nate Hopper
Class of 2024

bottom of page