top of page
  • Writer's pictureNate Hopper

[ 10/31/22 - 11/4/22 ] Code and Encoders

I'm starting to think encoders were designed to test my patience. Every time I make something work, something else breaks or stops working in my code. It's honestly quite frustrating, but I'm pushing on.


The thing is, I'm not quite sure what I want the future of this robotic arm to be. I genuinely don't know what I want to do with it, or if I want it to be utilized in some way to help in the shop. Everything has a purpose, and I feel like it's my job to give the robot arm purpose, so I'm not just making it work and then just relegating it to the fate of something that can just be oohed and aahed at. That's not what I want. I'm going to start thinking about the end goal of working with this robot arm, so I can establish a road map of how to get there. That way, perhaps I can come up with a more concrete set of goals on this project's path.

Here's a snippet of encoder code. We've been using interrupts to try and get data from encoders. PulseCount was set to count up and execute movement in a certain pulse range, but I'm not sure if it works how I think it does. Regardless, work must go on, so we continue!

3 views0 comments

Site by Nate Hopper
Class of 2024

bottom of page